Something Southern

I have always wanted to try Angeline’s Louisiana Kitchen because I have never had Southern cuisine before, and the place also seemed really popular judging from the long lines that I always see outside this restaurant. Hence, I decided to celebrate the end of the semester with something Southern.

The Voo Doo Shrimp was cooked really well and I loved the sauce! This dish is also one of the more highly recommended ones on Yelp. After having this, I went online to look up the recipe for Voo Doo shrimp here. The steps seem pretty doable so I might attempt making this next semester, although I am slightly deterred by the calorie counts for this dish. I really hope I did not consume 1041.9 calories eating this dish.

I tried some of their Shrimp Creole too and it was good but Voo Doo Shrimp beats this hands down.

Choosing which dessert to order proved to be quite a dilemma for me. I was torn between Angeline’s warm Banana Foster Bread Pudding and some New Orleans pastry called Beignets. Even the waiter could not help make a decision for us because those were the top two desserts in Angeline’s. In the end, I went for the bread pudding.

The rum caramel sauce that came with the bread pudding was tasty. However, I was expecting bigger portions having paid $6.50 for this dessert. The people who sat next to us ordered the beignets which looked really good with all that powdered sugar goodiness. Definitely going to try them the next time I come to Angeline’s. 

All in all, I had a really good dining experience in Angeline’s and it was a good way to celebrate the end of the semester. Great atmosphere and great food!

Leave a Reply

