Amo la Pizza

How do you like your pizza?

Personally, I like thin-crusted pizzas with some fruits or vegetable toppings like bell peppers, pineapples or artichokes. And the pizza better be oozing with molten cheese. Thin-crusted, because thick crusts are too heavy for my liking and I occasionally feel that the thick layer of carbs dulls down the taste of the toppings. For this reason, I favour pizzas at Italian restaurants over the thick-crusted ones in say Pizza Hut although there are definitely days when I would have some Papa John’s and the likes of it.

Over the past month, I have probably eaten Italian food at at least five different occasions and I can now say without an ounce of doubt that Fratini’s Restaurant is my favourite pizzeria in Brunei. Thin crust, cheesy and flavourful – their pizzas simply fit the bill. Furthermore, they have the 50% off any pizza and pasta for the month of Ramadan!  I do not have a picture of it here but my favourite pizza from Fratini’s is the Hawaiian. Gotta love the pineapples.

Fratini’s Restaurant @ Kuala Belait, Brunei

The Quattro Stagioni is a decent vegetarian option but I was quite disappointed with their artichoke toppings. I have had artichokes as pizza toppings and they tasted wonderful but the ones on the Quattro were quite sour. Perhaps they were pickled artichokes as opposed to regular artichokes.

Although I may have made Fratini’s seem more superior to Pizza Hut, I have to admit that I love their Honey Garlic Chicken flavour which is kind of hard to find outside of Brunei. I was hoping to have my Honey Garlic Chicken on thin crust but to my dismay, two of the Pizza Hut branches I went to at the Airport Mall and at Gadong did not have the Thin Crust option any more so we resorted to ordering The Edge.

 I still miss Pizza Hut’s Thin Crust. This was like honey garlic chicken on a giant cracker.

Not quite sure how to end this post following the expression of my delight at finally having Honey Garlic Chicken pizza but my chagrin when I found out that two Pizza Hut branches did not have Thin Crust, so I’ll throw in some interesting fact about Pizza Margherita that I learnt from Italian Magazine:

Pizza Margherita was named after Queen Margherita of Savoy who was presented with a pizza that resembled the colours of the Italian flag, red (tomato), white (mozzarella) and green(basil).According to popular tradition, in 1889, 28 years after the unification of Italy, during a visit to Naples of Queen Margherita of Savoy, wife of King Umberto I, chef Raffaele Esposito of Pizzeria Brandi and his wife created  a pizza resembling the colors of the Italian flag, red (tomato), white (mozzarella) and green (basil). They named it after the Queen – Pizza Margherita.

Now I will forever see the Italian flag on my pizza every time I have my Margherita.

Leave a Reply

