Ramadhan Stalls

Food, food everywhere.

The Stadium is simply food galore at this time of the year and if it were not for the heat, I could spend ages oogling at the hundred things that I want to eat but cannot down all in one night. Gotta say that I respect the food vendors who cook and sell food under the blazing sun while fasting — that takes great willpower and tolerance. Here are few of the sights at Stadium; few because I was too preoccupied hunting for food and deciding what to have for dinner:

Gerai Ramadhan @ Stadium Hassanal Bolkiah, Brunei

Tungking ayam, which is quite literally chicken butt. This is a uniquely Malay appetizer that is savoury,chewy and like many delicious food, full of saturated fat. Most non-locals will display signs of aversion to this dish upon hearing the description of tungking ayam so it is recommended to let the unsuspecting tourist experience the fleeting joy that this sinfully savoury appetizer brings before breaking the news to them that they just ate chicken butts on a stick. At least, that is what I plan to do if my friends from college do come to Brunei 😀

Deep fried goodies of all types such as popiah ayam (chicken egg roll), popiah pisang (banana egg roll), cucur udang (battered shrimp) and bergedil (deep fried potato and beef patty). Even looking at them creates a wave of nostalgia in me. Burgerdil brings me back to my primary school days, when I would push my way to the front of the hungry mob at the school canteen to secure my daily dose of bergedil. Cucur udang brings me about ten years back to the days when my mom would regularly cook them for meals. And popiah pisang simply reminds me of a phase that I went through a few years ago when I was obsessed with popiah pisang from Sumbangsih and could not stop eating it (or thinking about it for that matter).

Sambal stingray, something that I hardly eat but should probably eat more of since they don’t have stuff like this in America. My friend shared some with me and it was delicious!

In the end, I found myself truly torn between two items: nasi ayam penyet and beef kebab. I ended up getting both. However, I felt guilty at the thought of consuming two meals for dinner so the little voice in my head convinced me save my kebab for lunch the next day. Yay me for exercising some self control.

There are a lot of stalls selling burgers at Stadium, including the famous Taty’s burger which I have yet to try. There is also a stall that sells burgers that were originally from Kuala Lumpur and one of the items on their menu was the Tower burger with nine patties, priced at BND 50. Definitely the most expensive burger you can find in Brunei.

The grilled satays and honey chicken wings were also very alluring but I was satisfied with my nasi ayam penyet and kebab. I recently found out from a friend that Brunei made it into the Guinness World Record in 2009 for “The Largest Serving Grilled Satay in the World”. 1,184kg of chicken meat was used, and this number was not arbitrarily chosen. It signifies the date of Brunei’s independence which was on 1st January 1984. More details here.

I am proud to say that I fared pretty well at Gerai Ramadhan by not completely caving in to all of my cravings. The Malay kuehs (cakes) such as tapak kuda were extremely tempting but I refrained myself from getting some, having had kek batik for the past two days. Speaking of kek batik, I plan on making some when I’m back at the States — both for my own gastronomic pleasure and to introduce my college friends to the awesomeness of Malay cakes. Looks like I am going to have to pack some Marie biscuits in my luggage!

Leave a Reply

