Caffeine in a Bowl

Coffee served in a bowl is not exactly the most preposterous thing but never in my life did I think that I would ever drink mocha out of a bowl — until the day I went to La Boulange.

Large Mocha @ La Boulange, San Francisco


20121116-105243.jpg

I was really baffled by this, and thirty minutes later I was still baffled. One week later I am still amazed by my discovery of the fact that in some places in the world, drinking coffee out of a bowl is normal. After typing ‘coffee’ and ‘bowl’ into Google’s search engine, I  learnt that coffee bowls are common in France and the reason they use bowls is because it facilitates the dipping of croissants and pastries into the beverage. How did I spend nearly a week in Paris and be oblivious to the existence of a French coffee bowl?

20121116-105255.jpg

Now that my confusion has been dispelled thanks to the wonders of the internet, I have to admit that I am still impressed and amazed by the size of a large mocha because their large coffee bowl is super huge by my standard, The bowl was nearly the size of my palm and I can probably dip my face into the mocha.

Thank you, La Boulange, for the cultural enlightenment and for impressing me with your coffee portions.

Leave a Reply

