Italian in the Kitchen

20130112-204938.jpg

Pasta with chicken, baby spinach, arugula, mushrooms, diced tomatoes, onions and oregano with lemony white wine sauce

I have always been a fan of pasta in light sauces. It is quite rare for me to order anything with alfredo or carbonara sauce, and I will usually go for a dish like linguine ai frutti di mare if it is an option. To my surprise and delight, making light wine wine sauce turned out to be not as difficult as I thought! Basically involves simmering water, oil, white wine, minced garlic and onions, and whatever ingredients I desire for fifteen minutes. My jar of marinara sauce may have to move over to my bottle of Sauvignon Blanc now.

On the topic of cooking with alcohol, I am tempted to give steamed mussels in beer a try to recreate the awesome mussels I had in Brussels years ago.

Leave a Reply

