TGIF

What better way to start a Friday morning than by indulging in a gastronomically delightful brunch at one of San Francisco’s top brunch places? The hour long wait was painful but there was plenty to gain.

French Toast Sampler @ Mama’s on Washington Square, San Francisco
20130112-205057.jpg

This dish is so beautifully set up that I am almost tempted to deem it a work of art (not very credible coming from an engineering student who knows close to nought about art). Three different types of bread — banana-nut, cranberry-orange and what I believe is the swedish cinnamon — topped with fresh fruits. My favourite out of three has got to be the one with the cinnamony bread. When it comes to french toast, conventional cinnamon hits my sweet spot.

Vegetarian Benedicts

20130112-205116.jpg

Oh, how much I yearned for the dungeness crab benedict or omelette but was fazed by the price tags. I ended up with the Vegetarian Benedicts instead.

Monte Cristo

20130112-205134.jpg

Monte Cristo is hands down my favourite dish out of the three I had. Totally heads over heels for this grilled turkey, ham and cheese sandwich! Essentially a savoury french toast because the bread is dipped in egg before it is grilled and is reminiscent of the cheesy french toast sold near my hometown. The Monte Cristo is also served with light raspberry jam on the side that beats my Smucker’s by a mile.

Three dishes for two turned out to be plenty (did I just hear a “You don’t say?” somewhere out there?) so a walk around the neighbourhood seemed necessary.

20130112-205434.jpg

Grace Cathedral on the perimeter of Washington Square.

20130112-205211.jpg

Coit Tower, a salient structure in San Francisco’s skyline.

Found myself exploring Yerba Buena Gardens after a failed attempt at walk-in bowling and ended up sipping cafe latte at La Boulange for most part of the afternoon.

20130112-205505.jpg

Leave a Reply

