Stuffed with Salad

A few years ago, it used to be incomprehensible why people would ever order salad and consider it an actual meal. I used to be adamant about eating only cooked vegetables, such as stir fried bak choys or green beans. Fast forward to 2013 and here I am, ordering salads and even preparing my own for lunch. Never would I have thought that I would grow to appreciate salads.

Now I will write a review of the few salads I have tried in Berkeley so far. Currently, my to-go place for salad is Smart Alec’s Intelligent Food. I really like their Garden Chef Salad, which is packed with a lot of ingredients including edamemes, wheat berries, garbanzo beans and alfafa sprouts. Their balsamic vinaigrette is also great! This salad portion is large too but it is more expensive than salads elsewhere.

20130607-223426.jpg

When I am on the north side of campus around lunchtime, I would occasionally hit Northside Cafe. I have tried two of their salads to date — the NorthSide Salad and The Corner. The Northside Cafe as shown below consists of greens with citrusy chicken, almonds, cranberries and raisins. This sweet salad was bathed in balsamic vinaigrette, which I thought was too much, so I would recommend ordering this with the dressing on the side. Great salad to eat if you have a sweet tooth!

20130607-223447.jpg

The Corner, which I ordered because this was the only salad on the menu with boiled egg which I happened to be craving at the time, is pretty good too but had too much meat in my opinion but I obviously did not have to eat all the turkey and black forest ham they served.

The best salad deal in town that I have found has got to be at Cafe Mediterraneum down Telegraph Ave. Their simple green salad which comes with your typical mixed greens, tomatoes, onions, mushrooms and toast, costs only $2.75! The salad is very simple but this is my go to place when I am feeling a little parsimonious.

20130607-223601.jpg

Leave a Reply

