Asian Persuasion

In the form of Vietnamese vermicelli noodles.

Tin’s Vietnamese Restaurant was the first restaurant I’ve been to in the SOMA region of San Francisco, excluding Denny’s (do not ask me why I was at that ridiculously overpriced Denny’s). Before Tin’s, I had only been to two other Vietnamese restaurants and while they were in the spectrum of alright to good, none of them blew me away like the Bun Thit Nuong did in Tin’s Vietnamese Restaurant.

Bun Thit Nuong is their grilled lemongrass pork shoulder vermicelli rice bowl and I loved it. Being a Chinese, it is nearly blasphemous for me to confess that I do not share the same fervor that most Chinese people have for pork. From time to time, I would order a pork dish, only to regret not getting the chicken or beef. This dish, however, was an exception.

Bun Thit Nuong @ Tin’s Vietnamese Cuisine, SOMA

Bun Thit Nuong

The meat was so juicy and tender, and did not have the characteristic scent that often accompanies pork. I heard that the phos in this restaurant are pretty great too but I have recently developed a taste for  vermicelli bowls without broth over phos in the last few months. There is something about the vermicelli bowls — probably the cold noodles —  that give them a fresher and cleaner taste.

Here is the Hu Tieu, I think. Soup noodle with ground meat, shrimps and possibly fish cake and chicken. It was decent but it’s got nothing on them pork shoulders.

2013-12-21 19.18.06

 Tin’s Vietnamese Restaurant is a little pricey for Vietnamese food but it’s not every day that I actually enjoy eating pork or meat.

Leave a Reply

